Reviews: 4frnt VCT 182

I'm finally going to contribute some reviews to the board. Just got back from a 4 day binge at Mammoth, and skied different skis the last 3 days, all in powder.

Me:
    I'm not the ripper that many are here, but I spent 5 seasons at Squaw during and after college. The last couple of seasons I've been a grad student, skiing 30-35 days a year, almost all at Mammoth. I don't do much straightlining or hucking any more. I've never dropped anything over 30-35 successfully, Smooth Air at Squaw(40) resulted in a new ACL. At Mammoth I mostly ski Hangmans, varmits, noid 4, philippe's, lines off 22, hemlock...Standard stuff, I have not hit top of the world yet, hopefully this year. I'm about 5'8" 165.

That was a long winded way of saying I'm a long way from rockstar level. Evaluate these reviews accordingly. When I say something does not have a speed limit that more likely means that I didn't find it, not that it is not there.

Skis I ski: I'm a creature of habit. When I lived in Tahoe I skied the same thing almost every day. 190 AK launchers(lost one), 193xxx's, then 190 CMH explosivs. Probably put 250+ days in on the CMH's. The last couple of years I've skied mostly 189 green pistols. Definitely more of an everyday guy then a quiver guy. I've skied 189 vicious, and loved them, favorite ski ever, until this week.

I should add that the CMH's I ski are somewhat softer than the black explosives or wizards.

4frnt VCT 182.

I skied these on Friday, in several feet of new, snowing all day type conditions. Snow was pretty heavy, solid base snow.

Groomers: Sidecut felt like the old explosives, except wider, which it is. They don't roll like the pistols, you have to make them turn a bit, but they were still very easy to ski. They have a solid flex, stiffer than green pistols but not iron. If I really tried to push the speed on a really hardpack day they might chatter, but I don't buy skis whose purpose is to ski groomers.