Check Out Our Shop

Thread: Help Me

Help Me

So I've spent countless hours reading threads on forums about skis, but I'm no expert. It seems the people on this board have the most knowledge with what im looking for, so I'd really appreciate some help.

I'm about 5 ft 8 145 lbs. I need a fatter ski that I can ski everyday/ big mountain comps on. I'm not sure how big of a ski I want for this. That is where you can help me. I've been skiing for 9 years. I am 16.

My skiing style: I like to ski everything on the mountain, I like steeps, I like big drops, and I like to ski the occasional groomer and make huge gs turns. Just wondering what you guys would say. So, any help or input would be awesome. Thanks a lot!
    Freedom Isn't Free. Is It?

"Freeride is just an attitude, to go out in the mountains with no rules and do whatever feels sweet to you at the time." -Chris Davenport

I would rather not be referred to countless threads. I have read most of them, and so I am just asking for me. Sorry if it is an inconvience, I'm just a JONG when it comes to this sort fo thing

Quote Originally Posted by marshalolson

RELATIVE FLEXES:
    9 - titan pro / Squad / supa stiff bros (270)
    8 - LP / Monster / explosiv / dp #3 / capital stiffs (260)
    7 - big daddy / stockli dp (250)
    6 - ANT / extra stiff kingswood / stiff bros
    5 - mantra / ak swallowtail / dp #2 (240)
    4 - gotama / soft bros / reg. kingswood (230)
    3 - yellow ak rockets / sugar daddy ?
    2 - PR / lawnchair (200 or less)
    1 - sanouk/made'n
    0 - green ak rockets

also, HERE is a pretty rad ski flex chart too

CUSTOM SKIS:
    I highly recommended gettin a nicer, more durable, better made, slightly more expensive ski - so worth it in the long run
    dp skis (80-138mm) - so light, so powerful, so sick. get a pair. www.dpskis.com
    igneous (88-118mm) - fat shapes & custom flex. legendary. so worth it. www.igneousskis.com