Euro Universities

Euro-mags and others lucky enough to study abroad: I'm thinking of possibly pursuing some type of 1 or 2 year post doc / lab tech position next winter. As my Euro geography/topography is not brilliant, could you please name some universities within 1/2 of a days reach of slopes? France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria Italy???

My background is in geochemistry but I can cross over into microbiology or chem. so I would be looking for one with a science program. I can barely manage a bit of German but language barriers are something I am very willing to work on.

Thank you, this will really help direct my search.

-K

Thumbs up

Grenoble, Grenoble and Grenoble.

Geneva, Lausane (just abit futher around the same lake), Salsburg, Zurich, Turin....but Bad Roo's choice is probably best

Grenoble is definitely a contender. My advisor is doing a sabbatical there this spring, maybe I could get him to work on them...

Thanks for the replies. If anyone has personal experience with any of the universities, that would help too.

Interesting, I was thiking of asking the same question here. I'm considering a PhD in Geology/GIS at either ETH in Zurich or maybe even in New Zealand. My office mate from grad school is at ETH and he skis all the time. PM me if you like and I'll give you his email address. He's in tectonics.

GK

EPFL in Lausanne might have what you are looking for.
    EPFL= Ecole Polytechnique Federal Lausanne.
    (I might have mis spelled a word in there.)

It is the equivalent of ETH in Zurich, except that they speak French not German. English might get you by too. Both are considered excellent schools.

From Lausanne, you can be in the mountains in 1.5 hours.
    Ski, Bike, Climb.
    Resistence is futile.