looking for a little guidance

alright so im kinda new to the photography and havent quite got what im doin figured out like some of the top dog photogs here so im just looking for a little guidance to get my stuff lookin a little better cuz as you can see below it looks like shit.

sad thing is these were the best i could find. thanks for any guidance that follows. thanks bb
    Last edited by basinbum; 09-29-2008 at 12:57 PM.
    yes its true you are a good woman, then again you may be the antichrist
    08/09-- i quit counting

oh and one other question i thought i would add on here i have been using a nikon d80 for all these is this a good, decent, crap camera as far as photography goes???
    08/09-- i quit counting

And yo gramma is like horrible brah might wanna finna learn to use punctuation foo
    Don't be that guy. That guy is dead.
    www.skimavrick.smugmug.com

Quote Originally Posted by basinbum View Post
    as you can see below it looks like shit.
    First thing, you need to take the lens cap off.
    I got a Nikon camera...I love to take a photograph...So Mama, don't take my Kodachrome away

Quote Originally Posted by AstroPax View Post
    First thing, you need to take the lens cap off.
    oh is that what that is... shit got it fixed
    08/09-- i quit counting

First and easiest tip: Shooting in the mid-day sun usually produces disappointing results. The light is too harsh, it washes out the colors and the sun being high also reduces contrast, hiding the texture and details in things like those rocks.

Try to wait for the good lighting if you can. The "magic hour", or the hour around sunrise and sunset when the sun is low in the sky which highlights terrain features and gives a warmer, less harsh light is the best time to shoot.

Mid-day shooting can work too if there are clouds or some other circumstances that cause the light to not be so harsh.